Point System

Florida Traffic Violations Point Penalties

In Florida, pleading guilty to a moving violation can result in points being added to your driving record. Points have a way of adding up and unless you take action to reduce your points or avoid having points added, they can have a negative affect on your life and lifestyle.

If your points reach a certain level during any given period, your insurance premiums will increase. If you receive 12 points within 12 months, your driver license will be suspended for 30 days. If you receive 18 points within an 18 month period, your driver license will be suspended for 3 months. If you receive 24 points in a 36 month period your license will be suspended for an entire year.

Attorney Mitchell Frank focuses his practice on the defense of people accused of all types of traffic violations. In most cases, he can prevent points being added to the clients’ record.

Remember, if you pay the full fine on your ticket you are really asking for points to be added to your record. There are many ways I can avoid you having points on your record. Call me now to speak about all of your ticket problems.

Point Assessment Chart:
Moving Violations 3 points
Speeding 15 mph or less than posted speed 3 points
Speeding more than 15 mph over posted speed 4 points
Passing stopped school bus 4 points
Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in a crash 4 points
Unlawful speed resulting in a crash 6 points
Reckless driving (criminal violation) 4 points
Leaving the Scene of a crash with damage > $50.00 6 points
Littering 3 points
Violation of child restraint laws 3 points
When will too many points cause a suspension?
12 points accumulated within 12 months 30 days
18 points accumulated within 18 months 3 months
24 points accumulated within 36 months 1 year

Get A Free Consultation In A Few Hours Via Email

Call 1-800-980-5650 to get a free consultation, or if you prefer, use the quick form above and get a response within 24 hours – including weekends, holidays, and evenings!