Revoked License Attorney
Many people choose to ignore the fact that their license was revoked and drive illegally. If law enforcement catches you, a traffic ticket can put you in serious trouble. You may have had an obligation or an emergency that caused you to drive without your license, but this may or may not help you avoid the serious penalties of this kind of violation.
In Florida it is a criminal offense to drive with a revoked license. Depending on the reasons for revocation and whether repeat violations are involved, the charge may either be a misdemeanor or a felony
Suspended License vs Revoked License
A suspended license is temporary and it can be reinstated but a revoked license is a permanent seizure of a person’s driving privilege. With a revoked license, a person can never legally drive in that state. If a driver violates the laws and rules of driving again and again then his/her license is revoked.
How To Get a Revoked License
The following violations can lead to driver’s license revocation, but typically only after multiple convictions or for particularly serious offenses:
* Driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs
* Reckless driving
* Leaving the scene of an injury accident
* Failure to answer a traffic summons
* Drag racing / speed contests
Additional non-driving offenses that may result in the revocation of your driver’s license include the following:
* Conviction for a non-DUI drug-related offense
* Failure to respond to a court summons
* Non-DUI alcohol or drug offenses by minors
* Use of altered or fictitious license plates
The point system varies from state to state, but most states allow a certain number of points within a given time period before a motorist’s license is suspended or revoked
Consequences of Driving on a Revoked License
The penalties for driving with revoked or suspended license in Florida depend on the degree of seriousness of the offense. Details of the offense are laid out in Section 322.34 of the Florida Motor Vehicle Statutes, where it is entitled, “Driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified”
According to the statutes, multiple or repeat offenses will result in severe consequences:
* First and second time offenses are considered to be misdemeanors, punishable by an imprisonment term not to exceed 60 days, and/or fines not to exceed $500
* Third time offenses are classified as a felony punishable by a prison term not to exceed 5 years and/or fines of up to $5,000
Should I Hire a Revoked License Attorney?
YES! Driving while your license is revoked is a serious crime in the state of Florida that may even lead to jail time and felony charges. If you are involved in such a charge you should contact a Fort Lauderdale Ticket Attorney who will be able to properly advise and direct you.
Have The Experience Of A Former Assistant State Attorney
Mitchell Frank has been a member of the Florida Bar since 1987. He graduated the University of Miami School of Law in 1986 and received a Business Degree from the University of Miami in 1983. Experienced Fort Lauderdale Ticket Attorney Serving Fort Lauderdale, Plantation, Davie, Pompano Beach, Weston, Deerfield Beach, Weston, Coral Springs, Oakland Park, Wilton Manors, Sunrise, Miami, Miami Beach, South Beach all of Broward County & Miami Dade County Call 1-800-980-5650 or if you prefer, use the quick form above and get a response within 24 hours – including weekends, holidays, and evenings!
Contact my office at: (954) 476-5650, (305) 222-8878 or (800) 980-5650 to speak to an attorney immediately or fill out the contact form located at the left side of the page and I will contact you. Either way, I will discuss your case with you and advise you of the cost to represent you. You can then come to my office or pay by credit card or check card over the phone. It’s that easy! No Bait and Switch